Happy Birthday Michelle Obama!

18 Jan

As many of you may know, I am fascinated with First Ladies and how their role influences gender and politics.  I can dedicate many a blog post to that topic alone, but not today.  Today it is going to be dedicated to my favorite fascination: Mrs. Michelle Obama. Image

Today is the First Lady’s 48th birthday.  Since I lack the musical skills to write and perform a song titled, “I have a crush on Obama”, this is my birthday ode to Mrs. O.

Mrs. Michelle Obama (FLOTUS)~

You have no idea who I am, therefore I realize how strange it is that I am wishing you Happy Birthday via my blog.  Nevertheless, I feel compelled to express to you my gratitude and my best wishes for you on your 48th year. 

Thank you for being a badass lawyer, public servant and for showing the world what us sociology majors are really made of. 

Thank you for being one of the first public female figures that intentionally challenges what is means to be a professional working woman and a mother– by proving that you can do both, and well.

Thank you for accepting yourself, sharing your personal story, and for prepping Mr. Obama before his debates. (I give you the green light to run for President in 2012).

Thank you for challenging status quo and making it acceptable to wear cardigans and vintage dresses instead of suits.  This may sound shallow, but I think your choice of style challenges us to express ourselves outside of conventional norms.  Now when I affix my 1920s broaches to my sweaters my mother doesn’t say I look like a grandma anymore, she says I look like a dignified woman.

 Thank you for jumping rope with kids, dancing on TV, and lifting weights.  Thank you for being one of my role models.

Happy Birthday Michelle Obama from Portland, Oregon! 

One Response to “Happy Birthday Michelle Obama!”

  1. Jake January 18, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    Yeah Michelle! You go birthday girl!!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment